What the first amendment means to me?

It seems like such a simple question. And I wish I could give you a simple answer. 

The first amendment is the freedom of worship, speech, petition, assembly, and press without interruption by the government. But what when I reflect on the so called “freedom” we all posses as Americans, I can not help but think of the minorities that still seem unequal to us based on the social norms of our society. 

Yes, we all have this right to say what we want, and worship whatever higher authority we choose, but when society restricts us into being frightened to expressing our opinions, the fact that the government cannot interrupt is irrelevant. 

African Americans and homosexual citizens all have this same right, but racism and homophobia still restrict them to keep the “status quot”. When you say what you want and in result get assaulted or even killed, what’s the point of the government not being able to get involved when your peers are the ones you should be scared of?

As a communication major, the first amendment protects future job opportunities but I can’t help but grieve over the people who fear to use this right because of the backlash that may occur. 

I do believe in the first amendment. It is what makes us Americans and it is what our forefathers based our country on. The first amendment is a platform for me. I have an open mind to various opinions and if the government officials can’t discriminate, I shouldn’t either. All of the population needs to take this into account and take note I believe. We must grow and change and be accepting or we will never succeed to make this world a better place.

A simple question on the first day of class-“What does the first amendment mean to you?”

It means the government cannot interfere with our opinions, but we need to start to accept others without judgment. If we don’t, what’s the point of having it, if we’re scared of using it?

 

3 thoughts on “What the first amendment means to me?

  1. I completely agree with your statement that the freedom of speech is under-used anymore. I also liked how you mentioned minorities in relation to the first amendment, since it really helped connect it to events that are prevalent in today’s media.

  2. Katie, I thought your post was very well thought out a put together. I agree with you especially in this paragraph, “Yes, we all have this right to say what we want, and worship whatever higher authority we choose, but when society restricts us into being frightened to expressing our opinions, the fact that the government cannot interrupt is irrelevant. ” I also believe that although the government can’t control our opinions, they do a great job of discouraging other belief. All together I liked your post. I do however think that the first line “A simple question on the first day of class-…” , is overdone and you shouldn’t start the post with a “question”.

  3. Katie,
    I believe you pose a really great point in your blog. You often see people that are afraid to speak their mind and take advantage of their right because they are afraid of consequences that could follow. People who are minorities and even those of the majority. You did a great job with breaking your paragraphs up. Great job!

Leave a Reply

